Drive – Be Inspired by Richie Parker

Richie Parker overcame being born without arms to become a chassis and body component designer for Hendrick Motorsports, one of the winningest auto racing teams in the US.

“I don’t listen too much to people when they tell me I can’t do something” – Richie Parker

The video from ESPN  which I’ve included below tells his story.  When watching it for the first time I was amazed at his ability.  Then I was amazed by his ingenuity.  Finally, I was amazed by his tenacity.

“There’s not a whole lot that’s going to stand in my way” – Richie Parkerrichie-parker

Richie is living life on his terms.  He disregards the physical differences he has and chooses to move forward, conquering obstacles along the way.  Stories like his give us belief that people have the ability to overcome most anything, and they inspire us to do more with our own lives.  The key for those of us with the relative peace and comfort of ‘normalcy’ is staying inspired.

The other day someone picked up a CD out of my LIFE subscription pack and asked, “Is this a motivational cd?” I said yes.  With a change in his tone he then said, “Does it keep you motivated?”  I answered, “It sure does”.  The idea of routinely listening to CDs containing inspiring stories that teach (and are also reminders of) success principles, teach leadership, interpersonal & communications skills was foreign to him.  Those things are motivational, and motivation is what’s needed in life to move ahead.  He and I are much the same; we were both born one foot from finish line in the freedom of the western world.  From where we both sit life can look pretty good & be relatively easy when compared to the rest of the globe…but it’s not exceptional.

Are you on a journey of excellence?  How are staying focused on realizing your audacious goals daily?

Ritchie Parker and is exceptional and applaud him.   Enjoy the video!

“I don’t know that there’s a whole lot in life period that I can say that I can’t do, just things that I haven’t done yet.” – Richie Parker

Are you on a journey of excellence?  How are you staying focused on realizing your audacious goal daily?

Ritchie Parker and is exceptional and applaud him.  Be inspired!

Leave a Reply

